Purpose.

“When you find your definitions in God, you find the very purpose for which you were created. Put your hand into God’s hand, know His absolutes, demonstrate His love, present His truth, and the message of redemption and transformation will take hold”- Ravi Zacharias

 

When you go on a journey with God, the first thing He seems to do is erase the man made ideas of purpose within you so that He can bring back to remembrance the truths of your purpose He spoke over you long before the world even began. To do things with no purpose is empty and it leaves us feeling empty and we just kinda spiral from one purposeless thing to the next constantly searching. See, purpose is what fulfills us.

But I’ve come to learn that from birth we are taught the man made idea of purpose far more than we are reminded of the God given purpose. Man’s view of purpose involves wealth & success above all things and somehow the two are exclusively linked to each other. Man has taught me that my true purpose should yes make me happy but that it should also make me successful and success is measured in wealth. Well, at least that’s what I have observed in my own life and from those around me, in order to prove that you are blessed, you need to show material things otherwise you’re not really blessed.

Now this was something that I realised God needed to break in me. Since answering His call to go and do my Master’s in Theology & Education, He has progressively broken every “norm” idea I had in my mind. I went through a phase of not thinking I was living out any purpose because at my age I should have more to show for it, I should have all the material things that so many others my age have…you know, the nice house, the cool car, the well paying job, at my age, geez I’m “meant” to have the husband and kids already too because those things are part of my purpose.

But slowly, painfully but oh so beautifully, God broke and continues to break every man made idea of my purpose I had within me. He sometimes gently, sometimes bluntly reminded me that I am the righteousness of Christ (2 Corin 5:12) and have been predestined according to God who works out everything in conformity with the purpose of His will (Eph 1:11). He’d explain to me and show me how His will was far better than what I thought would be a good plan for my life (Jer 29:11). He’d also let me experience the overwhelming feeling of fulfillment when I would do something that is apart of my purpose. God stopped me from comparing myself to others, because we were all made with a unique plan for our lives so how could we go around comparing? I read a quote from Jefferson Bethke that said “Identity first, activity second” and have come to realise how true those words are. In order to do what God has called me to do, I first need to know who I am in Him.

And what is my purpose right now? Well that’s easy, it is to reflect all of Him, to show love the way Jesus shows me love daily, to give forgiveness freely in the same way I receive it. To hold on to humility in all situations, to manifest the Kingdom of God on earth everywhere I go. To walk boldly into any and every situation He calls me into and to trust that He will make everything work out for my good (Rom 8:28). My purpose is found in Christ, not in wealth, in material things or even in people….only in Christ. And once I embraced that, joy overflowed in everything I did and continue to do even the difficult things. I might not know what’s coming next but I do know who goes before me, and that….that makes everything okay. FB_IMG_1454009389526

Leave a Reply

